Life in Pre-K

Ok, have you noticed I haven’t blogged in umm well, since Aug 9th. Whoa- do I have a lot to tell you!!! I’ve been busy!

August 28th- First day of school. First day as a teacher. Pre-K teacher. First day with 25 4 year olds in one room with a teacher that had NO idea what she was going to do. Yep- that teacher, was me. It. Was. Horrifying. I had a kid yell at me the first day and say words that no child should say. Needless to say, I went home crying thinking “WHAT IN THE WORLD DID I GET MYSELF INTO!” My mom now tells me she was scared I wasn’t going to go back and face those kids the second day. But I did. I got up, took some tums, and went to work. It was so much better the second day. I didn’t cry the second day. Third day? It was like the first day. Why?! I was scared out of my mind after that. I just knew I would fail. But guess what? It’s now October 19 and I LOVE my job. Absolutely LOVE it. Do I have rough days? For sure. Do I let it get to me and bring me down? No. I just deal with it. And hope for a better day the next day. So… what’s life like in Pre-K? Let me fill you in. 🙂 (And yes, all of these have happened)

Boogers (lots of boogers), yelling/crying/kicking/screaming, potty words (I ask what was said and the answer I get is “poop!!”) haha, putting god knows what in their mouths, bathing in sanitizer, stomach viruses, laughs, giggles, singing, dancing, stories (ALL kinds of stories), heart break, LOVE, pictures from my students to me to hang on the wall by my desk (they love to make me pictures of lions and of me and words they spell….. which I can never figure out what any of it is.. I just say WOW, it’s so pretty! Explain it for me… haha) and most recently… LICE. eeek!

That’s right. Lice. Disgusting. It’s like a reoccurring cycle in my classroom. Someone has it every day it seems and they are sent home. I don’t know about you but the moment I hear the word LICE, my head starts to itch. It’s itching now just thinking about it. So last night what do I do? I go to target and get the last box of RID by Bayer and treat my hair. Just to make sure. 🙂 I coated my hair and then freaked out thinking.. omg what if bugs come out? GROSS. Luckily that didn’t happen. I was lice free 🙂 Whew!!! So many hugs are given throughout the day, I was just convinced I had lice- and I am convinced I will have it before the end of the school year at least once. Yuck!

Teaching Pre-K is a big challenge some days. But there is not one day that I wake up and don’t want to go to work. I love my kids. I can’t wait to see them every morning. They brighten up my day every single day. Anything on my mind disappears when I see their smiling faces. We are all finally figuring each other out, and learning routines. Soon, my class will be a well oiled machine 🙂 I am very lucky. I have a great class and a lot of bright kiddos. Every day we laugh about so many things. Whether it’s me being goofy or something one of them says (and yes, kids really do say the craziest things). We have a class fish named Nemo– how original right? Ok, it was either that or Squirelly… is that even a word? It is in Pre-K!

So far, we have gotten to see a fire truck and fireman, a police man and we got to play in the police cars (One of my girls sang Old McDonald Farm on the car intercom for the world to hear, it was precious), yesterday the high school came and brought animals to visit us (so cool!). We’ve made self portraits, family portraits, dolls representing ourselves, bats, haunted houses, and next week we are starting on spiders, and then pumpkins. Right now on my wall in the hall by my classroom is a spider web, and haunted houses, bats hanging and soon will be handprint spiders!

I really wanted to tell more stories but I can’t think of anything to tell.

I am TIRED. lol!

Comment!

