You don’t have to remind me.. I get it

I had a pretty rough week with my Nana being in the hospital and waking up early, getting to the hospital, and saying late.

On top of that, I was reminded every single day by someone that I am overweight. I get it people, I’m not the skinniest person on the block. Is it really necessary to make fun of me for it? “Don’t eat that”, “Where are you going to put all that food”, “You need to eat better and work out more”. It really hurts my feelings.

I have struggled with my weight all of my life. Not only have I struggled with my weight, I have struggled with dealing with people constantly commenting on my weight. It’s embedded in my brain that you think I’m fat. That’s not a good way to live. It’s hurtful.

I can sit here and say “I’m trying, I’m doing my best” but what if I don’t feel like always trying. Do I HAVE to constantly try to lose weight just to make YOU happy?? What if I don’t care? I mean, come on I’m not going to allow myself to go overboard. But I don’t have to be perfectly skinny you know. I can have a chubby waist and still have a pretty face. Next time you want to comment on my weight, how about you tell me how pretty I am.. Speak kind words, not hurtful ones.

Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me— yeah, bullshit. Words do hurt and they stick in my brain for my life. I don’t want to remember you as the one to always tell me how fat I am. I want to be able to look back and think how awesome and nice you were to me. I want to remember how you showed me you loved me, because you can tell me you love me all day long but if you speak those hurtful words to me, then I am not feeling the love.

I just want to be accepted for who I am.. not for who you want me to be.

It’s hard to feel beautiful when your told your overweight all the time.

Note to people who just don’t get it:

When someone is too skinny or overweight, they know they are too skinny overweight. You don’t have to remind them.

4 thoughts on “You don’t have to remind me.. I get it

  1. I love you just the way you are!!! Never do anything for other people, only for yourself. Do what makes you feel good. Try not to let other people’s comments get you down. I have learned in a lot of areas of life, people have opinions and they love to share them. Particularly when it comes to babies. I have heard this whole pregnancy “don’t get as big as you did last time” “I’ve never seen a stomach as big as that, are you sure its not twins” etc. I was really upset at first but now I realize that my body is gonna do what its gonna do and I’m not the kind of person to gain only 30 lbs and lose it in 6 weeks. Not at all. I gain 45-50 and it takes a TON of hard work to lose it and takes quite a bit of time too. Anyway, hope that makes you feel better. I LOVE YOU! Cant wait to see you again.

  2. You are beautiful just the way you are. I was looking at you in my wedding photos thinking “damn! Lauren looks hot in dress!”

Comment!

