Recipe Exchange- Zantop’s Spaghetti

Zantop Spaghetti

Here is a tweaked spaghetti recipe my father used to make us.

I don’t use measurements when I cook so please excuse the lack there of. It’s not hard. It’s just a little bit of this, a little bit of that. You’ll figure it out. It’s easy!

This recipe can be altered to however many servings you want to make. I’m going to base this recipe off of making a stockpot full. (see no measurements haha)

2 large cans tomato sauce (I use Hunts) Use more or less depending on thickness desired.

1 can stewed tomatoes (original or italian style)

Dried Basil

Dried Parsley

Dried Oregano

Steak Seasoning (I use Tex-Joy because it’s our cousin’s company)

Garlic Powder

Garlic Salt

salt and pepper

Red Pepper (Crushed or ground)- amount depends on desired heat

1-2 pounds ground turkey or beef

1 onion, diced

1 pkg sliced mushrooms (optional)

1 lb Pasta of your choice

Cook meat and onion until cooked. Season with salt and pepper, and garlic powder while cooking.

Drain meat. Transfer to a large pot. Saute mushrooms in same pan as meat. Transfer to pot.

Combine tomato sauce and stewed tomatoes (I break up the stewed tomatoes) with the meat, onion, and mushrooms.

Here comes the tricky part.

Season with all seasonings, to your taste. I usually do several shakes of all, to my liking.

Simmer about 30 minutes, taste, and adjust seasonings if needed. You will be able to tell what it needs, I promise. I like mine spicy so I add extra red pepper in the beginning.

Serve over penne, spaghetti, angel hair, or any other pasta you enjoy!

Here is a picture of it cooking because I haven’t cooked the pasta yet to make it pretty. Enjoy! Please comment and let me know how it was or if you have any questions!

Comment!

